Hear what others have to say about Das Haus

Paradise Found

  • Stayed: September 2015
Das Haus was a great find. This charming two bedroom home is very comfortable and is appointed nicely. The views of the surrounding mountains are magnificent. Das Haus is in walking distance to all of downtown Silverton. The Durango to Silverton narrow gauge railroad tracks are 385 feet to the southeast and make for a very enjoyable experience when the train arrives each day. If you are looking for a nice getaway home, look no farther. Das Haus is it. Silverton is a great community. Come and enjoy this quaint little mining town and all of the surroundings.

Great Getaway

  • Stayed: July 2015

I recently stayed at Das Haus and had a great time enjoying the Silverton area. Working with the owner was a pleasure he was always available to answer any questions we had about the property or the surrounding area. I have already booked my next stay at Das Haus for next year. My family has been visiting Silverton for years and this was the first time to stay in a Rental home, we have all agreed this is the way to go especially with such a nice place to stay!! I highly recommend Das Haus! the place was very clean and nice and had all the amenities needed for a nice long weekend!!! Great Job Das Haus crew.

Perfect in town casa

  • Stayed: June 2015

Perfect for a home base in Silverton. Very comfortable, clean and has all needed amenities. Great stay!!!

LD Oklahoma

  • Stayed: June 2015
I’ve stayed at this house for three consecutive years. Das Haus is always clean and has everything you need. The owner is very good to work with and he makes sure the stay was pleasurable. This place is highly recommended!!

Great Spot

  • Stayed: March 2015
Das Haus met all of our expectations. I would go back.

Excellent Weekend Getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2015

This home is PERFECT for 3 couples, or two couples with Kids, and any similar mix of couple and single folk. A PERFECT staging location for skiing Silverton Mountain or for summer adventures as well. The owner is excellent to work with, the property is very clean and very well laid out, and the location is within walking distance to anything around town. We will return for sure!!!

Awesome place

  • Stayed: January 2015

Loved DAS HAUS, Made our trip wonderful! Slept a lot comfortably.

AF

  • Stayed: September 2014

Had a wonderful time, this rental is immaculate and very modern! The upper loft is really cute, great for kids. 4 adults had more than enough room: beds were comfortable and kitchen had plenty of ammenities. Great view of the train coming in everyday!!

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. THE PERFECT PLACE FOR A PERFECT STAY

  • Stayed: September 2014

We were so pleased with Das Haus. It was just like the pictures portrayed, clean, very warm and comfortable, beautiful views, relaxing, quiet, and a satisfying place to be. We enjoyed Das Haus for 11 days and could have easily stayed longer. Mike Holt so graciously accommodated us and is very easy and pleasant to work with. We had our son and wife meet us there and they also really enjoyed the property.

Awesome Haus

  • Stayed: August 2014

I have stayed at Das Haus twice and the other couple we stayed with their third time. Repeated stays should speak for itself. We continue to be amazed at the perfect functionality of the house and the helpfulness of the owner. Upkeep & cleanliness is topnotch.

Silverton, Colorado

  • Stayed: August 2014

My in-laws stayed in this condo for a week and it far exceeded our expectations! It is a very clean gorgeous condo with stunning views of Kendall mountain and the train coming and going and discharging passengers from the beautiful windows and balcony. The kitchen and bathroom are fantastic although there are many good restaurants in Silverton too. The owners were very responsive to every question and email we sent. My in-laws can hardly wait for next year when they want to stay here again! We highly recommend this condo

Great basecamp for a stay in the San Juan’s

  • Stayed: August 2014

This is an excellent property–very modern for what the normal home in Silverton offers. You could not ask for better convenience to covering Silverton–once here you never have to drive to go anywhere within the town itself. The views are excellent and you can see the train come in and out of town from being only 2 blocks away out the front deck. The place is very well appointed as well–everything you needed and nothing you didn’t. The owner is on top of things–once we arrived and noticed that the wifi didn’t work–I emailed him and right away he sent someone over and reset the router. Problem solved! The internet is spotty in this town to begin with, but that’s not the owner’s issue. I’d come back to this place again and again.

Das Haus – Wonderful House!

  • Stayed: July 2014

My family (5 adults & 1 1/2 year old grandson) had a great time! This home was a perfect fit for us. Location was 3 blocks away from the busy downtown street just close enough, we walked everywhere! The house plus kitchen was neat & clean, well-maintained. My grandson loved the balcony especially when the trains & dogs went by! The loft was great for our 16 year old son, he just wished for a TV up there! At first, thought the one bathroom would be a problem but it was good. Bathroom has a spacious shower & lots of towels!! The washer & dryer was an added bonus! Lots of room around the outside of house for parking vehicles & trailers. This Texas bunch loved it and plan to come back!

Paul and Angie Twenter

  • Stayed: June 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Silverton last week. It was nice to watch the trains arriving and departing. We also enjoyed the Animas River within a close walk. The sleeping loft was a bonus to our 3 year old, giving him a special place to play. The cool breezes, mountain views and wonderful accommodations made our week a relaxing time for us.

We love Silverton!

  • Stayed: June 2014

BEAUTIFUL little house within easy walking distance of downtown. We loved the small garage area where we could wax our snowboards (we really appreciated the saw horses that were outside). The kitchen was beautiful and well stocked with extras (condiments, etc…) and appliances. Down comforters were wonderful and beds very comfy. The loft area was super cute and would be really fun for kids. We appreciated the washing machine and dryer for dirty snowboarding clothes. The bathroom had a giant tiled shower! Enjoyed the books and magazines laying around. Big windows made everything light and gave fantastic views of the mountains. Can’t wait to stay here again next year!

Great place!

  • Stayed: April 2014

Me and three friends stayed at Das Haus for a long weekend of skiing Silverton Mountain. Das Haus is excellently fitted, very clean, and comfortable. We had everything we needed to cook, clean, and enjoy our time in Silverton. We really liked the one-car garage/drying room for our skis and gear. Very, very handy. The booking and check-in and -out processes were hassle-free. The place felt like home and we will definitely come back!

Expert backcountry skiers

  • Stayed: March 2014

We are VERY happy to leave a positive review for ‘Das Haus’….my only hesitation is that SO many people will book here, we won’t be able to have our special place! Lol……. Will see you for the next annual ski adventure to Silverton! Das Haus ROCKS!!!!

Great stay in an amazing town!

  • Guest Kristin B.
  • Date of stay 12/29/13
  • Review Submitted 02/07/14

My husband and I took our four kids to Das Haus for our winter vacation. Everything was better than imagined. The beds were comfortable, the home was clean, and spacious enough for our family of six. We enjoyed cooking and the stove too! The internet was great allowing us to get work in as well. The town was equally as amazing. It was quaint and just perfect for us! We are planning a return trip and are so happy we chose Das Haus.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
 

Das Haus is fantastic

  • Guest Don C. (Laverne, Ok)
  • Date of stay 08/08/13
  • Review Submitted 08/18/13

This is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed one week and loved the place. Mike was there to greet us upon arrival and showed us around the house. Excellent view of Kendall Mountain and the river only a block away. We will try booking again next year on our annual trip to Silverton. Can’t get any better!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
 

Top Notch Home Away From Home

  • Guest POG (Springfield, MO)
  • Date of stay 07/30/13
  • Review Submitted 08/05/13

We recently stayed at the Das Haus for four nights. We had four adults in our party. This is a perfect place to stay while visiting Silverton. It is new and clean. It feels very homey and cozy. It is well maintained and the owners live right next door. We were able to meet the owners, visit a bit and they were very helpful. We had ATVs rented for 3 days to ride the trails. This was a wonderful place to come home to each evening. Two of the evenings we fixed dinner at the house and the other two we went out to eat. We ate at the Brown Bear Café (our waiter’s name was Ian, he was great!) and we ate at a pizza/pasta restaurant that is next to the old Silverton jail. They both were amazing! We had a great vacation and would recommend the Das Haus and both restaurants to anyone visiting Silverton!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.
 

Great New Cabin

  • Guest batman (Texas )
  • Date of stay 07/22/13
  • Review Submitted 08/05/13

Would recommend this cabin. Very helpful regarding local information. Was very clean and maintained. Loved the view and the town. Cannot wait to go back.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
 

AWESOME DAS HAUS

  • Guest LD (Elk City, Oklahoma)
  • Date of stay 07/22/13
  • Review Submitted 07/30/13

This house is absolutely the ideal set up for your stay in Silverton. This house is newly constructed and very clean. Just a short walking distance to everything in town and just around the corner from the boarding location for the Durango/Silverton train. The owners were great to deal with and very accommodating. I definitely plan to stay here again!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
 

Fantastic house, great view, great town!

  • Guest Stuck in Ohio (Ohio)
  • Date of stay 07/18/13
  • Review Submitted 08/07/13

I brought my family back to Silverton, a place I came to as a child to create the same memories I had. Well, I didn’t stay in place this nice way back when. The house was absolutely perfect! Very comfortable especially with the in-floor heating. Short walk to the center of town, views of the train coming in each day and, or course, the mountains. Kids loved it, my wife loved it and it made our entire stay in Silverton everything I could have hoped it would be and more! Highly recommend! Thanks!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.
 

Charming House!

  • Guest Jackie (Northern Virginia)
  • Date of stay 07/06/13
  • Review Submitted 07/28/13

This newly built home was just what we needed after 3 days on the road. The owner’s pride & quality work of his home are apparent. Spectacular view of Kendall Mountain. Modern amenities, comfy beds & pillows, plenty of space and a kitchen with everything you’ll need to cook a little or a lot. It was a delight to watch the Durgango/Silverton steam train come in and out of town – added bonus! Silverton is a quaint little town nestled between Durango and Ouray. Hope to get back there again and if we do, we’d definitely stay here!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Pure Perfection

  • Guest Sandy (Glendale AZ)
  • Date of stay 06/09/13
  • Review Submitted 06/20/13

If you are planning on staying in Silverton, this is the place to stay! Had a very relaxing and enjoyable time at this home. Has everything you could ask for. Exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable which is hard to find in rental properties. Do yourself a favor and look no where else and just book you stay at Das Haus. Owners are very accommodating, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Enjoyed seeing the Silverton train come to town (in the summer) when we were not out exploring. Thank you again and we look forward to returning next year.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
 

Das Best

  • Guest Patrick (Denver, CO)
  • Date of stay 04/12/13
  • Review Submitted 04/15/13

This place is PERFECT. Brand new, super nice, well laid-out. Can sleep 5 people in their own beds, which is great. Very clean, nice views, close to the downtown bars/restaurants. Totally exceeded my expectations.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
 

Das Perfect Place!

  • Guest Adam (Denver, CO)
  • Date of stay 02/28/13
  • Review Submitted 03/04/13

While we no doubt enjoyed the quaint and historic nature of Silverton, we definitely appreciated that Das Haus was a newer build with all of the modern amenties I would expect to be a challenge to find elsewhere in town, yet still affording a cozy mountain appeal. Extremely accomodating in all regards with a great layout for small groups or families and an incredibly convenient location to “Main Street” only 3 blocks away. The owners were also extremely responsive, cool and a great resource for suggestions as town “locals” who live next door. An epic time on the mountain and 40th birthday weekend with the guys was certainly had — big thanks Mike & Maryann!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.
 

Das Haus

  • Guest Goldie (Denver, CO)
  • Date of stay 02/22/13
  • Review Submitted 02/27/13

8 buddies traveled to Silverton to go cat skiing and ride Silverton mountain. The house was comfortable for us, and with 2 air mattresses we brought, everyone had their own bed. The house seems brand new and had everything we needed to make it an epic ski weekend. We were in walking distance from all the restaurants and bars in town. Mike was very easy to work with and made sure we had what we needed. We definitely hope to stay there again for another ski adventure. Thanks, Mike!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.
 

Fabulous Spot!

  • Guest John (Kansas City)
  • Date of stay 06/10/11
  • Review Submitted 07/05/11

This is a fabulous place! I highly recommend Das House to anyone looking for a very updated/new spot. It has everything you could possibly need for cooking, sleeping, relaxing. The views are spectacular as it has walls of windows. The furniture is comfortable and well cared for. It is easy to see that shoes have not been worn throughout the house as it is very clean! Plenty of space for groups or a couple. We did not regret our stay.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Ideal Silverton rental home

  • Guest Joe (Vail, CO)
  • Date of stay 02/09/11
  • Review Submitted 02/25/11

This was the perfect home for our group visiting for a ski trip. Great location, thoughtful layout and a really nice interior made this the ideal spot. Thanks again!
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

Awesome!

  • Guest Brendan (Summit County)
  • Date of stay 12/17/10
  • Review Submitted 01/04/11

Your house is awesome, we all had a great time thanks very much!!!!!!!!!!! Hopefully we can get another group for april unguided skiing, thanks again.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.